2002 Regular Session


File Code: Criminal Law - Procedure Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 162
Sponsored By:
Delegate Vallario (Task Force to Examine Maryland's Crime Victims' Rights Laws) and Delegates Barkley, Boschert, Bronrott, Brown, Cadden, Conroy, Conway, DeCarlo, Dembrow, Dewberry, Doory, Dypski, Edwards, Finifter, Frush, Fulton, Giannetti, Glassman, Goldwater, Griffith, Grosfeld, Hammen, Harrison, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Hubbard, Hubers, Hutchins, Kach, Kelly, Klima, La Vay, Love, McHale, Menes, Moe, Mohorovic, Morhaim, O'Donnell, Owings, Parrott, Petzold, Pielke, Pitkin, Proctor, Rawlings, Riley, Rosso, Rudolph, Shank, Shriver, Snodgrass, Sophocleus, Taylor, Valderrama, and Wood
Victims' Rights - Right to Restitution - Leave to Appeal


Authorizing the State to file for leave to appeal to the Court of Special Appeals from an interlocutory or final order that denies or fails to consider specified rights to restitution to a victim in cases involving violent crime.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/19 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Judiciary
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Anthony G. Brown, District 25
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Crime Victims' Rights Laws, T. F. to Examine MD's
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate John A. Giannetti, Jr., District 13B
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Emil B. Pielke, Delegate, District 9B
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 12-302 )
Criminal Procedure
( 11-103 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered