2001 Regular Session


File Code: Private Sector Labor and Industry Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 313
Sponsored By:
Delegates Hixson, R. Baker, Barkley, Barve, Benson, Billings, Branch, Brown, Burns, Cane, Carlson, Cole, Conroy, C. Davis, D. Davis, DeCarlo, Dembrow, Donoghue, Dypski, Franchot, Frush, Goldwater, Hammen, Harrison, Healey, Heller, Howard, Hubbard, Hubers, Hurson, A. Jones, K. Kelly, Kirk, Klausmeier, Krysiak, Love, Malone, Marriott, McHale, McIntosh, Minnick, Moe, Mohorovic, Montague, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, Owings, Paige, Patterson, Phillips, Proctor, Rawlings, Riley, Shriver, Stern, Swain, Valderrama, Vallario, and Weir
State-Funded Construction Projects - Apprenticeship Programs


Requiring that each contract for a State-funded construction project shall require the contractor or the association of which the contractor is a member to have an approved and registered apprenticeship program in place for at least 6 months before submitting a bid for the contract; requiring that each contract for a State-funded construction project shall require the contractor or the association of which the contractor is a member to hire State-registered apprentices at a specified ratio; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Commerce and Government Matters
Hearing 3/7 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Commerce and Government Matters
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Leon G. Billings, District 18
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Anthony G. Brown, District 25
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Paul H. Carlson, District 39
Delegate William H. Cole, IV, District 47A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate John A. Hurson, District 18
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
( 5-309 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered