2001 Regular Session


File Code: Health Occupations Prior Year Introduction As: SB 372/00 - EEA
Sponsored By:
Delegates K. Kelly, Amedori, R. Baker, Barkley, Bartlett, Barve, Benson, Billings, Bobo, Boschert, Boutin, Bozman, Branch, Brinkley, Burns, Cadden, Cane, Carlson, Clagett, Cole, Conroy, Conway, Cryor, D'Amato, C. Davis, DeCarlo, Dembrow, Dobson, Donoghue, Doory, Dypski, Edwards, Elliott, Finifter, Flanagan, Franchot, Frush, Fulton, Getty, Giannetti, Gladden, Glassman, Goldwater, Griffith, Grosfeld, Harrison, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Howard, Hubbard, Hubers, Hutchins, A. Jones, Kagan, Kirk, Kittleman, Klima, Kopp, Krysiak, Love, Malone, Mandel, Marriott, McClenahan, McIntosh, McKee, Menes, Minnick, Montague, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, Paige, Parrott, Petzold, Phillips, Pitkin, Riley, Rosso, Rzepkowski, Shank, Sher, Shriver, Snodgrass, Sophocleus, Stern, Stocksdale, Stull, Swain, Turner, Valderrama, Walkup, and Zirkin
Practice of Medicine - Definition


Including within the definition of "practice medicine" the making of a specified proposed determination that a health care service is not medically necessary or appropriate for a patient; specifying an exception for a determination made solely for an educational purpose; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters & Economic Matters
Hearing 2/27 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Environmental Matters
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Leon G. Billings, District 18
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Paul H. Carlson, District 39
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate William H. Cole, IV, District 47A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate C. Richard D'Amato, District 30
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Michael V. Dobson, District 43
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate John A. Giannetti, Jr., District 13B
Delegate Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tod David Sher, District 14A
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Robert A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS -see also specific health occupations-
Bill affects the following Statute:
Health Occupations
( 14-101 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered