2001 Regular Session


File Code: Civil Actions and Procedures Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 242
Sponsored By:
Delegate Vallario (Task Force to Examine Maryland's Crime Victims' Rights Laws) and Delegates R. Baker, Barkley, Barve, Bobo, Boschert, Boutin, Bozman, Bronrott, Cane, Clagett, Conroy, Conway, DeCarlo, Donoghue, Doory, Dypski, Edwards, Finifter, Franchot, Frush, Giannetti, Goldwater, Griffith, Grosfeld, Harrison, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Howard, Hubbard, Hubers, Hutchins, K. Kelly, Kopp, La Vay, Marriott, McIntosh, Menes, Mohorovic, Montague, Morhaim, Owings, Parrott, Pendergrass, Rawlings, Riley, Rosso, Rudolph, Shank, Shriver, Stern, Stocksdale, and Taylor
Civil Actions - Punitive Damages - Crime Victims


Allowing in a civil action an award of punitive damages resulting from conduct that would constitute a violation of specified criminal offenses under specified circumstances; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/6 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Crime Victims' Rights Laws, T. F. to Examine MD's
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate John A. Giannetti, Jr., District 13B
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 10-913 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered