2001 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 654 File Code: Higher Education
Sponsored By:
Delegates Turner, McHale, Cane, Glassman, Barve, Boschert, Eckardt, Sophocleus, Nathan-Pulliam, Bartlett, Boutin, Vallario, Owings, Zirkin, Cadden, Schisler, K. Kelly, La Vay, Hubbard, Swain, Getty, Dembrow, Shank, Gladden, Petzold, Paige, Oaks, Guns, Hutchins, Harrison, Healey, Patterson, Palumbo, Kopp, Grosfeld, McKee, Phillips, O'Donnell, Klausmeier, Bohanan, Hecht, V. Jones, D'Amato, Proctor, Pitkin, Dobson, A. Jones, Bobo, Edwards, Moe, Frush, Benson, Kagan, Wood, Hubers, Pendergrass, Dewberry, R. Baker, Mitchell, Hill, Linton, Stocksdale, Hurson, Howard, C. Davis, W. Baker, Sher, Kirk, McClenahan, Hammen, Snodgrass, Montague, Cole, Menes, McIntosh, Shriver, Conroy, Rosso, Rosenberg, Gordon, Minnick, DeCarlo, Ports, Bozman, Redmer, Finifter, Cryor, Dypski, Krysiak, Valderrama, Mandel, Heller, and Busch
Higher Education - Tuition Waiver - Faculty and Employees


Requiring governing boards of public institutions of higher education to develop tuition waiver policies for specified persons; and authorizing governing boards of institutions of higher education to develop room and board waiver policies for specified persons.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Appropriations
Hearing 2/8 at 11:00 a.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Appropriations
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
Passed Enrolled
Signed by the Governor Chapter 654
Senate Action
First Reading Economic and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 4/4 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic and Environmental Affairs
Favorable with Amendments
Special Order 4/9 (Senator Hogan) Adopted
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion two readings same day Const/Rule 24 (The President) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Senator Hogan) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Michael E. Busch, District 30
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate William H. Cole, IV, District 47A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate C. Richard D'Amato, District 30
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Michael V. Dobson, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Kerry A. Hill, District 26
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate John A. Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Verna L. Jones, District 44
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Richard A. Palumbo, District 22A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 42
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate Kenneth D. Schisler, District 37B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tod David Sher, District 14A
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Delegate Robert A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
( 15-106 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled (PDF)
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 474061/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 23, 2001   at: 12:10 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 073427/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 9, 2001   at: 4:19 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 414634/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 9, 2001   at: 11:55 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 22, 2001: Third Reading Passed (135-0)
April 6, 2001: Third Reading Passed (139-0)
April 5, 2001: Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)