The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.
President of the Senate
State House
Annapolis MD 21401

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, I have today vetoed Senate Bill 697 - HOPE for Nontraditional Students - Community College Transfer Scholarship Program.

This bill establishes the Community College Transfer Scholarship Program. To qualify for a scholarship under the program, an applicant must meet certain criteria. The annual award amount is $3,000. An award may be used for tuition and fees at a Maryland four-year private or public institution.

House Bill 476, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me today, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign Senate Bill 697.

Parris N. Glendening