The Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr.
Speaker of the House
State House
Annapolis MD 21401

Dear Mr. Speaker:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, I have today vetoed House Bill 341 - Cecil County - Economic Development Commission.

This bill updates current law pertaining to the Cecil County Economic Development Commission (CCEDC). The Cecil County Board of County Commissioners must appoint between 23 and 33 commission members, each of whom will serve for three years. The commission must include at least one member from each of the eight municipal corporations in the county and two representatives from the community at large. The bill also requires that the commission meet regularly and submit an annual report within 90 days of the end of each fiscal year.

Senate Bill 82, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me on April 25, 2000, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign House Bill 341.

Parris N. Glendening