2000 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 576 File Code: Taxes - Sales and Use Prior Year Introduction As: HB 298/99 - W&M Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 103
Sponsored By:
Delegates Cryor, Bozman, Amedori, Arnick, R. Baker, Barve, Boschert, Boutin, Cadden, Carlson, Conroy, Dembrow, DeCarlo, Dewberry, Eckardt, Finifter, Frush, Fulton, Greenip, Healey, James, Kittleman, Kopp, Flanagan, La Vay, Love, Marriott, Minnick, Mohorovic, Phillips, Pitkin, Ports, Moe, Rawlings, Redmer, Riley, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Shriver, Stocksdale, Glassman, Shank, Parrott, Howard, Taylor, Paige, Elliott, Menes, Petzold, Conway, Stern, Kach, Klausmeier, Klima, Goldwater, Mandel, Rosso, Sher, Snodgrass, Valderrama, Walkup, Guns, Bartlett, Bohanan, McKee, and Patterson
Sales and Use Tax - Tax-Free Week


Designating the week of August 10, 2001, through August 16, 2001, as a tax-free week during which various sales and use tax exemptions will apply; defining the term accessory items; providing for exemptions from the sales and use tax for various clothing and accessory items during the back-to-school tax-free shopping week; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/1 at 2:30 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 2/2 at 11:00 a.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 2/16 (Delegate Billings) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (130-6)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (133-1)
Passed Enrolled
Signed by the Governor Chapter 576
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Floor Amendment (Senator Hooper) Rejected (16-30)
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (45-1)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5
Delegate John S. Arnick, District 7
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Paul H. Carlson, District 39
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34
Delegate Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tod David Sher, District 14A
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Tax - General
( 11-227 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled (PDF)
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 135566/1 (PDF)     Offered on: February 15, 2000   at: 10:34 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 279234/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 5, 2000   at: 12:04 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 753224/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 6, 2000   at: 11:55 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
February 18, 2000: Third Reading Passed (130-6)
April 8, 2000: Third Reading Passed (133-1)
April 4, 2000: Floor Amendment (Hooper) {753224/1 Rejected (16-30)
April 4, 2000: Third Reading Passed (45-1)