1998 Regular Session


File Code: Health Maintenance Organizations Prior Year Introduction As: HB 1032/97 - ECM
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bonsack, Guns, W. Baker, Bozman, Conroy, DeCarlo, Faulkner, Harkins, Holt, Pitkin, Barve, Benson, Boston, Branch, E. Burns, D. Davis, Brinkley, Beck, Cadden, Conway, Cryor, C. Davis, Donoghue, Dypski, Elliott, Finifter, Eckardt, Stup, McHale, Frush, Fulton, Getty, Goldwater, Hammen, Harrison, Healey, Heller, Howard, Hubbard, D. Hughes, Hutchins, Kagan, Kelly, Klausmeier, Klima, Kirk, Kopp, Krysiak, Leopold, Linton, Malone, McClenahan, McIntosh, McKee, Miller, Edwards, Watson, Marriott, C. Mitchell, Mohorovic, Morhaim, Oaks, Muse, Perry, Preis, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Stocksdale, Stull, Weir, Hecht, Workman, Turner, Poole, Shriver, Owings, Nathan-Pulliam, Jacobs, Comeau, Rawlings, and Walkup
Health Maintenance Organizations - Quality of Care - Requirements


Requiring health maintenance organizations to assure that only a physician or other health care provider decides what health care services will be used to evaluate and treat a medical complaint of a member; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters & Economic Matters
Hearing 3/10 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, District 34
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Raymond Beck, District 39
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Frank D. Boston, Jr., District 41
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Michael G. Comeau, District 35A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Dereck Davis, District 25
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Don B. Hughes, District 37A
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Ellen L. Willis Miller, District 5
Delegate Clarence M. Mitchell, IV, District 44
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate D. Bruce Poole, District 2B
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Carmena F. Watson, District 44
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Delegate Betty Workman, District 1B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Health - General
( 19-705.1 , 19-708 , 19-710 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Amendments: None offered