1998 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 480 File Code: Criminal Law - Procedure Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 242
Sponsored By:
Delegate Vallario (Task Force to Examine Maryland's Crime Victims' Rights Laws) and Delegates Barve, Bobo, Bozman, Brinkley, E. Burns, M. Burns, Cadden, Comeau, Conroy, Conway, Crumlin, Cryor, Curran, DeCarlo, Dewberry, Donoghue, Doory, Dypski, Edwards, Exum, Faulkner, Finifter, Frush, Fulton, Hammen, Harkins, Harrison, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Howard, Hubbard, B. Hughes, Hutchins, Jacobs, Kach, Kelly, Klausmeier, Klima, Leopold, Linton, Love, McIntosh, McKee, Menes, Minnick, Mohorovic, Morhaim, O'Donnell, Owings, Palumbo, Perry, Petzold, Pitkin, Preis, Proctor, Rawlings, Redmer, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Schade, Snodgrass, Stup, Turner, and Workman
Victims' Rights - Notification


Requiring the notification of certain victims about the terms and conditions of any plea agreement and judicial action; altering a certain definition; and generally relating to victims' notification procedures.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/3 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-0)
Passed Enrolled
Signed by the Governor Chapter 480
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Floor Amendment (Senator Stone) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (45-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Michael G. Comeau, District 35A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Crime Victims' Rights Laws, T. F. to Examine MD's
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Gerald J. Curran, District 43
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Brenda B. Hughes, District 25
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Richard A. Palumbo, District 22A
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Victoria L. Schade, District 31
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Betty Workman, District 1B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Article - 27 Crimes and Punishments
( 770 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled (PDF)
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 621097/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 10, 1998   at: 10:56 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 108355/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 10, 1998   at: 12:45 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 843906/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 11, 1998   at: 2:07 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 13, 1998: Third Reading Passed (135-0)
April 10, 1998: Third Reading Passed (136-0)
April 11, 1998: Third Reading Passed with Amendments (45-0)