1998 Regular Session


File Code: Agencies, Offices, and Officials Prior Year Introduction As: HB 657/95 - CGM Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 236
Sponsored By:
Delegates Edwards, Holt, La Vay, Brinkley, Conroy, Bissett, Owings, Jacobs, V. Mitchell, Cadden, Flanagan, Wood, McClenahan, Linton, Baldwin, Malone, Weir, Redmer, McKee, DeCarlo, Donoghue, Bonsack, Bozman, Guns, Slade, Conway, Mossburg, Greenip, Klima, Ports, M. Burns, Morgan, Schade, Rzepkowski, Faulkner, Elliott, Snodgrass, Stup, Getty, Stocksdale, Stull, Harkins, Hecht, Kittleman, and Comeau
English Language - Formal Recognition


Designating the English language as the official language of the State of Maryland; providing for certain exceptions; providing that the Act may not be construed to require the translation into English of any official motto or slogan; and making provisions of the Act severable.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Commerce and Government Matters
Hearing 2/25 at 1:15 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/10 at 1:15 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Commerce and Government Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 3/19 (Perry) Adopted
Special Order 3/20 (Perry) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Perry) Rejected (58-70)
Floor Amendment (Delegate Valderrama)
Laid Over (Delegate Valderrama) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate Valderrama) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate Valderrama) Rejected
Floor Amendment (Delegate Valderrama) Rejected
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (76-59)
Senate Action
First Reading Economic and Environmental Affairs
Sponsored by:
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Phillip D. Bissett, District 30
Delegate Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, District 34
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Michael G. Comeau, District 35A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate John S. Morgan, District 13B
Delegate Mathew Mossburg, District 39
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Victoria L. Schade, District 31
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Article - 41 Governor - Executive and Administrative Departments
( 18-207 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 183906/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 20, 1998   at: 11:30 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Number: 263703/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 20, 1998   at: 11:49 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 363207/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 20, 1998   at: 12:28 p.m.     Status: Rejected
Number: 476061/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 18, 1998   at: 10:45 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 513105/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 20, 1998   at: 12:24 p.m.     Status: Rejected
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 20, 1998: Floor Amendment (Perry) {183906/1 Rejected (58-70)
March 23, 1998: Third Reading Passed (76-59)