1998 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Drunk Driving Prior Year Introduction As: SB 450/97 - JPR Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 160
Sponsored By:
Delegates Genn, D. Davis, Barve, Benson, Bobo, Brinkley, M. Burns, Conroy, Conway, Crumlin, Cryor, C. Davis, Dypski, Exum, Finifter, Franchot, Frank, Goldwater, Gordon, Grosfeld, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Howard, Hubbard, B. Hughes, Hurson, Jacobs, Jones, Kach, Kagan, Kopp, La Vay, Leopold, Mandel, Marriott, Menes, C. Mitchell, Morgan, Morhaim, Mossburg, Muse, Nathan-Pulliam, Owings, Patterson, Perry, Petzold, Pitkin, Preis, Rawlings, Rosenberg, Shriver, Snodgrass, Stocksdale, Stull, Valderrama, Watson, and Miller
Drunk Driving - Intoxicated Per Se - Driving While Under the Influence


Reducing the level of alcohol concentration required for a determination of driving while intoxicated per se from 0.10 to 0.08; reducing the level of alcohol concentration that will result in the suspension of a driver's license from 0.10 to 0.08; reducing the level of alcohol concentration that will result in the crimes of homicide or life threatening injury while intoxicated per se from 0.10 to 0.08; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/18 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Judiciary
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Gilbert J. Genn, District 16
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Dereck Davis, District 25
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Robert L. Frank, District 11
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Brenda B. Hughes, District 25
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Ellen L. Willis Miller, District 5
Delegate Clarence M. Mitchell, IV, District 44
Delegate John S. Morgan, District 13B
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Mathew Mossburg, District 39
Delegate C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 42
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Carmena F. Watson, District 44
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 10-307 )
Article - 27 Crimes and Punishments
( 388A , 388B )
( 11-127.1 , 16-205.1 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Amendments: None offered