1998 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Licensing and Registration Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 159
Sponsored By:
Delegates Kopp, W. Baker, Barve, Beck, Billings, Bobo, Bonsack, M. Burns, Conway, Crumlin, Cryor, Dembrow, Dewberry, Dypski, Edwards, Finifter, Genn, Goldwater, Greenip, Grosfeld, Harkins, Healey, Heller, Hixson, Holt, Hubbard, Hurson, Hutchins, Jacobs, Kach, Kagan, Leopold, Love, Mandel, Marriott, McIntosh, McKee, Menes, Miller, Morhaim, Owings, Pendergrass, Perry, Petzold, Pitkin, Preis, Proctor, Rawlings, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Slade, Turner, Workman, Cadden, Clagett, DeCarlo, and Shriver
Motor Vehicle Administration - Privacy Protection Act of 1998


Prohibiting the disclosure, except under certain circumstances, of Motor Vehicle Administration records containing certain personal information unless the individual who is the subject of the record consents to the disclosure in writing; requiring the Administration to provide certain notice that the Administration is prohibited from disclosing personal information, except under certain circumstances, unless the disclosure is authorized by a certain person in interest; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Commerce and Government Matters
Hearing 2/17 at 1:15 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/17 at 1:15 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Commerce and Government Matters
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Raymond Beck, District 39
Delegate Leon G. Billings, District 18
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, District 34
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Gilbert J. Genn, District 16
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Ellen L. Willis Miller, District 5
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Betty Workman, District 1B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
State Government
( 10-611 , 10-616 )
( 12-112 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Amendments: None offered