1997 Regular Session


File Code: Public Health
Sponsored By:
Delegates Valderrama, Benson, Branch, E. Burns, M. Burns, Cadden, Clagett, Crumlin, C. Davis, Doory, Dypski, Exum, Frush, Fulton, Greenip, Harkins, Harrison, Healey, Howard, B. Hughes, Leopold, McHale, C. Mitchell, Montague, Muse, Nathan-Pulliam, O'Donnell, Opara, Palumbo, Patterson, Perry, Pitkin, Proctor, Rzepkowski, Schade, Shriver, Stup, Turner, Walkup, and Vallario
Cloning of Humans


Expressing the intent of the General Assembly of Maryland to ban State funding of cloning and cloning research that would replicate a human being.

Legislative History

House Action
First Reading House Rules
Motion Rules Suspended for late introduction (Delegate Valderrama) Adopted (94-13)
Referred House Rules
Re-referred Environmental Matters
Hearing 4/7 at 1:00 a.m.
Unfavorable Report by Environmental Matters
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Brenda B. Hughes, District 25
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Clarence M. Mitchell, IV, District 44
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Clay C. Opara, District 41
Delegate Richard A. Palumbo, District 22A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Victoria L. Schade, District 31
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill Text:
First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)