1997 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 554 File Code: State Debt (Bond Bills) Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 791
Sponsored By:
Delegates Taylor, Arnick, Beck, Bozman, Busch, Cadden, Conroy, Conway, Crumlin, Curran, Dewberry, Doory, Eckardt, Edwards, Faulkner, Getty, Guns, Healey, Heller, Hixson, Hubbard, Hurson, Hutchins, Kach, La Vay, Linton, Love, McHale, Mandel, Minnick, V. Mitchell, Mohorovic, Montague, T. Murphy, O'Donnell, Owings, Perry, Petzold, Proctor, Shriver, Slade, Stocksdale, Walkup, Weir, and Vallario
Creation of a State Debt - World War II Memorial Commission and World War II Memorial Commission Loan of 1995


Creating a State Debt in the amount of $200,000, the proceeds to be used as a grant to the World War II Memorial Commission for the planning, design, and construction, together with any necessary excavation, landscaping, and other auxiliary improvements, of a memorial to honor Marylanders who served in World War II; and amending Chapter 315 of the Acts of the General Assembly of 1995, the World War II Memorial Commission Loan of 1995, to alter the purpose of the proceeds of the bonds.

Legislative History

House Action
First Reading Appropriations
Hearing 3/12 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Appropriations
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (122-0)
Returned Passed
Signed by the Governor Chapter 554
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Favorable Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Motion 2rdgs same day Const/Rule 24 (Senator Amoss) Adopted (44-0)
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate John S. Arnick, District 7
Delegate Raymond Beck, District 39
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Michael Erin Busch, District 30
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Gerald J. Curran, District 43
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Timothy D. Murphy, District 47A
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill Text:
First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Number: 614437/1 (PDF) Offered on: APRIL 3, 1997 at: 11:12 Status: Adopted