1997 Regular Session


File Code: Health Maintenance Organizations
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bonsack, W. Baker, Barve, Bozman, Branch, Brinkley, Conroy, Conway, Cryor, Crumlin, C. Davis, DeCarlo, Dewberry, Donoghue, Dypski, Exum, Elliott, Faulkner, Finifter, Frank, Fry, Fulton, Getty, Goldwater, Guns, Hammen, Harkins, Harrison, Heller, Holt, Howard, D. Hughes, Hutchins, Hurson, Kagan, Kelly, Klausmeier, Klima, Kirk, Kopp, Krysiak, Leopold, Linton, Love, Malone, McClenahan, McIntosh, McKee, C. Mitchell, Mohorovic, Morhaim, D. Murphy, Oaks, Muse, Perry, Pitkin, Preis, Rudolph, Stocksdale, Stull, Weir, Willis, Wood, Workman, Turner, Boston, Poole, Owings, Curran, Proctor, and Nathan-Pulliam
Health Maintenance Organizations - Quality of Care - Requirements


Requiring a medical director of a health maintenance organization to be a physician licensed to practice in the State; requiring a health maintenance organization to provide an opportunity for members to request to receive health care services from any physician or other health care provider and be reimbursed under the same terms and conditions as in the member's contract with the health maintenance organization; etc.

Legislative History

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/27 at 1:00 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Re-referred Economic Matters
Hearing 3/17 at 2:00 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/17 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Economic Matters
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, District 34
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Frank D. Boston, Jr., District 41
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Gerald J. Curran, District 43
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert L. Frank, District 11
Delegate Donald C. Fry, District 35A
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Ronald A. Guns, District 36
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Don B. Hughes, District 37A
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Clarence M. Mitchell, IV, District 44
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Delegate Ellen L. Willis, District 5
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Delegate Betty Workman, District 1B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Health - General
( 19-705.1 , 19-708 , 19-710 )


Bill Text:
First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)