1997 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 373 File Code: Criminal Law - Substantive Crimes
Sponsored By:
Delegates Genn and Taylor and Delegates W. Baker, Baldwin, Barve, Beck, Benson, Bissett, Bobo, Boston, Bozman, Branch, Brinkley, E. Burns, M. Burns, Busch, Cadden, Campbell, Ciliberti, Clagett, Conroy, Conway, Crumlin, Cryor, Curran, C. Davis, D. Davis, DeCarlo, Dewberry, Donoghue, Doory, Dypski, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Exum, Faulkner, Finifter, Flanagan, Franchot, Frush, Fry, Fulton, Getty, Goldwater, Gordon, Greenip, Grosfeld, Harkins, Harrison, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Holt, Howard, Hubbard, B. Hughes, Hurson, Hutchins, Jacobs, Kagan, Kach, Kelly, Kittleman, Klausmeier, Klima, Kopp, Krysiak, La Vay, Leopold, Linton, Love, Malone, Mandel, Marriott, McIntosh, McKee, Menes, Minnick, V. Mitchell, Mohorovic, Morgan, Morhaim, Mossburg, D. Murphy, T. Murphy, Muse, O'Donnell, Owings, Palumbo, Parker, Patterson, Pendergrass, Perry, Petzold, Pitkin, Preis, Rawlings, Rosapepe, Rosenberg, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Schade, Shriver, Slade, Snodgrass, Stocksdale, Stull, Stup, Turner, Valderrama, Walkup, Watson, Weir, Willis, and Wood
Manslaughter by Vehicle and Homicide by Motor Vehicle or Vessel While Intoxicated, Intoxicated Per Se, or Under the Influence - Penalties


Making manslaughter by vehicle a felony; making it a felony to cause the death of another as a result of negligent driving, operation, or control of a motor vehicle or vessel while intoxicated, intoxicated per se, or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a controlled dangerous substance; and generally relating to manslaughter by vehicle and homicide by motor vehicle or vessel while intoxicated, intoxicated per se, or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a controlled dangerous substance.

Legislative History

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (129-0)
Passed Enrolled
Signed by the Governor Chapter 373
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Hearing 4/2 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion 2rdgs same day Const/Rule 24 (Senator Green) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (47-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Gilbert J. Genn, District 16
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Raymond Beck, District 39
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Phillip D. Bissett, District 30
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Frank D. Boston, Jr., District 41
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Michael Erin Busch, District 30
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate James W. Campbell, District 42
Delegate Barrie S. Ciliberti, District 39
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Michael A. Crumlin, District 25
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Gerald J. Curran, District 43
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Dereck Davis, District 25
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Donald C. Fry, District 35A
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Brenda B. Hughes, District 25
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate John S. Morgan, District 13B
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Mathew Mossburg, District 39
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate Timothy D. Murphy, District 47A
Delegate C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Richard A. Palumbo, District 22A
Delegate Joan N. Parker, District 10
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate James C. Rosapepe, District 21
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 42
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Victoria L. Schade, District 31
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Carmena F. Watson, District 44
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Delegate Ellen L. Willis, District 5
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 4-301 , 4-302 )
Article - 27 Crimes and Punishments
( 388 , 388A )


Bill Text:
First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled (PDF)
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Number: 581487/2 (PDF) Offered on: MARCH 11, 1997 at: 10:43 Status: Adopted
Number: 728547/1 (PDF) Offered on: APRIL 7, 1997 at: 12:07 Status: Adopted