1997 Regular Session


File Code: Criminal Law - Procedure Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 174
Sponsored By:
Delegate Vallario (Task Force to Examine Maryland's Crime Victims' Rights Laws) and Delegates R. Baker, Barve, Beck, Bozman, Brinkley, E. Burns, M. Burns, Conway, Cryor, D. Davis, DeCarlo, Dewberry, Doory, Dypski, Edwards, Elliott, Faulkner, Finifter, Frank, Frush, Fry, Genn, Goldwater, Grosfeld, Hammen, Harkins, Harrison, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Holt, Howard, Hubbard, B. Hughes, Hurson, Hutchins, Kach, Klausmeier, Klima, Kopp, Krysiak, Linton, Pitkin, Preis, Proctor, Rawlings, Rosapepe, Rudolph, Rzepkowski, Shriver, Slade, Snodgrass, Stup, Taylor, Turner, Wood, Love, Malone, McIntosh, McKee, Menes, Minnick, Mohorovic, Montague, Morgan, Morhaim, Mossburg, T. Murphy, Owings, Parker, Pendergrass, Perry, and Workman
Courts - Court Costs - Victims of Crime


Increasing by $5 and $2.50 the amount of additional court costs that may be imposed on persons who are convicted of a crime or a violation of the Transportation Article which is punishable by imprisonment; requiring the Comptroller to deposit specified portions of the additional fees collected under the Act into the Maryland Victims of Crime Fund and the Victim and Witness Protection and Relocation Fund; etc.

Legislative History

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/25 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Judiciary
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (131-3)
Returned Passed
Governor vetoed - Cross-filed bill was signed
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Raymond Beck, District 39
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael W. Burns, District 32
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Crime Victims' Rights Laws, T. F. to Examine Maryl
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Dereck Davis, District 25
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Patricia Anne Faulkner, District 14A
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert L. Frank, District 11
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Donald C. Fry, District 35A
Delegate Gilbert J. Genn, District 16
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate James M. Harkins, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Sue C. Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Kenneth C. Holt, District 6
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Brenda B. Hughes, District 25
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate John S. Morgan, District 13B
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Mathew Mossburg, District 39
Delegate Timothy D. Murphy, District 47A
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Joan N. Parker, District 10
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Marsha G. Perry, District 33
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate Mary Louise Preis, District 34
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate James C. Rosapepe, District 21
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate J. Anita Stup, District 3
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Delegate Betty Workman, District 1B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Article - 27 Crimes and Punishments
( 830 )


Bill Text:
First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)